Time Change

March 8, 2009 mamoointhemiddle

I always feel  a little cheated when time changes….and we lose one hour. I guess wait until spring and we get it back, but I am sleeping in tomorrow anyway.

I grew up on a dairy farm and we never got to sleep past 7 am. I couldn’t wait until I was grown so I could sleep as late as I wanted to..<grin> Isn’t life grand when your a child ?? If we knew then what we know now we would have never been is such a hurry to grow up.

I am posting another “healthy” recipe that we enjoy and I hope someone tries it (??) We have used this recipe a couple of times and will continue to make it. We found it to be very good. It is a side dish Here it is and I think it’s a keeper !!

Zucchini Corn Saute       from Taste of Home’s Light & Tasty Cookbook Annual Recipes 2004  Submitted by Barbara Lundgren, New Brighton, Minnesota

4 1/2 cups sliced zucchini (1/4 inch slices

1/4 cup diced onion

1 tablespoon olive or canola oil

1-1/2 cups fresh or frozen corn, thawed

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon ground cumin

1/8 teaspoon pepper

In a nonstick skillet, saute zucchini and onion in oil for 4-5 minutes. Stir in corn, saute 2 minutes longer or until vegetables are tender. Sprinkle with salt, cumin and pepper. Yield: 4 servings

Nutritional Analysis; 0ne serving (3/4 cup) equals 104 calories, 4 g fat (1 g saturated fat), 0 cholesterol, 307 mg sodium, 16 g carbohydrate, 3g fiber, 4 g protein.

Diabetic Exchanges: 1 vegetable, 1/2 starch, 1/2 fat

Quote today is from W.C Fields…..

I once spent a year in Philadelphia, I think it was on a Sunday.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Angela  |  March 8, 2009 at 11:51 pm

    Well, I just found ur blog thru Terry’s. I am glad ur doing it. I will try to start reading more. I may even try that recipe. I will be cooking for me and Amanda when I get home and she and I will need to lose some weight. lol. Love ya

  • 2. gamerspowwow  |  March 9, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    Sounds yummy! I think I’ll try it tonight….. When you find the diet recipe that has meat with fat in it, and potatos I am so there!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

March 2009
M T W T F S S
     
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts

 
